home
posts

smol images

This is how I've landed to reduce image file sizes from the command line. From what I understand gopher and gemini are text based protocols so this space is probably not really appropriate for an inundation of images, but its a handy tool to have for other projects. I will be using the ImageMagick convert tool.

ImageMagick
Quick tutorial from DigitalOcean

To install:

$ sudo apt install imagemagick

This command reduces the image size to 400 width and makes it gray-scale:

$ convert mountain.jpeg -resize 400 -colorspace Gray mountain-sml.jpeg

The result:

$ du -ah
2.6M	./mountain.jpeg
28K	./mountain-sml.jpeg

alt text: b&w photo of mountain range taken from below in grassy tussock, next to a flowing creek on the right.

2.6MB to 28KB. Brilliant.

This is another groovy web based alternative that popped up in my feed the other day. Dithering gives it a bit of an artsy feel:

dither

________________________________

email: zkbro@proton.me