home
posts

getting started with linux: log 02

Linux is installed. That was easier than expected.

It wasn't obvious I needed to force a hard shutdown on the laptop (by holding the power button) before I could load the BIOS menu. For my particular laptop (specs below) I had to tap the F2 button on startup to load the menu.

Acer Aspire V3-571G
Processor   Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz   2.50 GHz
Installed RAM     4.00 GB (3.82 GB usable)

I basically followed these instructions from around 7:20 in the vid:

YouTube: Linux for the Absolute Beginner!

This was the vid I noticed a hard shutdown:

YouTube: Boot acer laptop using bootable usb drive

Once I had the USB selected I pressed F10 which restarted the laptop, booting Linux Mint from the stick. I then ran the Install Mint icon on the desktop, which gave me the option to remove my existing Windows 10 OS and install this one in its place. I didn't do any advanced encryption options, but I did set up a password. I could then remove the USB stick.

So that's it. I'm in. I don't have Windows. I am running Linux Mint 21.3 "Virginia" Cinnamon Edition. It comes with LibreOffice, which must be the MS Office equivalent, and a number of other small applications.

I connected to Wi-Fi.

I want to learn command line interface (CLI) - I just learnt what CLI is - so why not start now? The fella in the video above showed me the delightful <ctrl><alt><t> shortcut to open the terminal. I then installed Vivaldi# web browser from there. I just followed these steps:

Installing Vivaldi on Ubuntu and Debian from the command line

I put my hood on, turned up Carpenter Brut, and typed it out character by character.

† Carpenter Brut † TURBO KILLER † Directed by Seth Ickerman † Official Video †

Done!

I also liked this intro to command lines:

Introduction to Linux and Basic Linux Commands for Beginners

Next steps? Figure out internet security and blocking etc.

#Why Vivaldi? I'm not crazy on keeping up with the technical details, but I've noticed people are starting to get peeved with ethics surrounding Mozilla. Rather than wonder, I had a quick play with Vivaldi and am understanding why folks are predominantly moving to this one. I particularly like the tiling of tabs so I can see 2 side-by-side. I'll see how it holds up. If its too slow on my old laptop I'll look at something else. I installed Dillo as well which is CRAZY light, but I couldn't log into smol.pub on it.

Dillo

________________________________

email: zkbro@proton.me