home
posts

getting started with linux: log 01

I am inspired by the current #OldComputerChallenge happening, and with an old laptop floating around, I'm keen to finally give Linux a crack. So, here we go. I know next to nothing about Linux so this could be a complete failure. If not, then this could be a useful guide for someone else diving in for the first time.

My plans at the moment are to use the laptop for simple tasks (like blogging here) and maybe some kind of media player. I am blown away by what Andreas over at 88hz.net is doing, but I won't be setting the bar that high:

Old Computer Challenge 2024 - Day 4

I am writing this from my newer laptop running Windows which I will keep as is. I intend to get things set up on my old one, and continue posting from there when its functioning.

This was my absolute starting point:

How to get started with Linux: A beginner's guide

I had heard of these three distributions before:

After reading the below I decided to go with Linux Mint 21.3 "Virginia" Cinnamon Edition.

the author saw the potential of developing a Linux distribution that would address the many usability drawbacks associated with the generally more technical, mainstream products. After soliciting feedback from the visitors on his web site, he proceeded with building what many refer to today as an "improved Ubuntu" or "Ubuntu done right".

Major distributions summaries

I downloaded the ISO from here:

Linux Mint download page

Then I had to verify the ISO image:

How to verify the ISO on Windows

To do this I had to download the sha26sum.txt and sha256sum.txt.gpg files (saving in a particular way as per the instructions), then download GNU Privacy Guard. It then asked me to enter some text in the PowerShell window:

CertUtil -hashfile filename.iso SHA256

Success:

CertUtil: -hashfile command completed successfully.

The authenticity check then passed as well. All ready to roll.

I had used Rufus recently to format my laptop and install Windows 10 from the USB. Now to say bye to Windows, I will be using Rufus again to do the honors.

Rufus

This video explains the Rufus process clearly:

YouTube: Linux for the Absolute Beginner!

I have loaded the USB stick ready for the boot, but it's getting late. That'll do for a night.

________________________________

email: zkbro@proton.me